Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
Internet Links and Metatags
Can business #1 demand business #2 to remove any web page links to business #1 and any metatags that refer to it? Thanks!
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Karen Spigler |
Re: Internet Links and Metatags As long as the metatag was not trying to deceive, mislead or confuse consumers through the use of the marks or metatags and there is no trademark infringement, it seems that the metatag use may be OK to use. Most cases that are filed have not gone to trial since the defendants normally agree to remove the metatags. There was one case that did go forward and actually referenced the use of metatags (Playboy Enterprises, Inc. v. Terri Welles, 7 F.Supp. 2d 1098 (S.D. Cal. 1998)) and the court analogized metatags to the subject index of a card catalog because search engines reference metatags to provide the websurfer with an indication of the content of a web site. You need to check the content of your particular metatags with an attorney to determine whether the metatags do or do not violate the law. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Richard J. Kaplan, P.A.
Coral Springs, FL
Questions Answered: 968
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


