Florida  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 10/09/11, 5:09 am

Can a retail store make you sign an agreement as a consumer not to make too much money off the merchandise you purchase as a consumer like many others do at the same business.its a non profit org and they all of a sudden decided dealers make too much money and they want to slow us down by having us sign some kind of agreement is this legal? i have been shopping there for 5 yrs and all of a sudden they tell me "anyone making a living off of them is signing an addendum, i said i dont have a contract with you i am a customer who shops here several times a week. how can they discriminate agains what they call "dealers" funiture buyers used furniture at that. i pay whatever price they have on the item.. they want me to agree to shop limited hrs and other crazy rules. can a non profit just throw rules out like that. i do not even have a resale or tax number. i sell for people and do garage sales and on ebay. i file taxes and pay tax on everything i buy.. is this not discrimination against what they call "dealers" the people who are on the no tax list that sign when they purchase items are dealers would they not be included? can they single me out? i am not sure if it is because i am a lesbian and they are a ministry who frowns upon such indiscrecion. what can i do? if i dont sign they say i cant shop there. should they not be using legal documents? should all the dealers that buy there sign as well or at least be told they have to then choose if they want to? can they do this? they get everything donated to them and they price it and we all buy what we want.i pay whatever price is on it take it and resell it? they said that the dealers make more money them them sometimes>? well maybe i should be running your ministry? i cant help that they price it and i buy it and make money. its a thrift store a non profit> why they worried about what the dealers are buying> they decide to put it out and price it? they are lining their pockets and want more obviously. what can i do? is this legal to do to a customer?

5 Answers


Answered on: 10/09/11, 7:04 am by Sanford M. Martin

May a non-profit retailer condition its sale on an agreement with the customer. Yes. Is the customer required to sign the agreement. No, unless the customer wishes to purchase the product or service. So long as the agreement itself does not require the customer to commit an illegal act or other irrelevant act, the agreement may be required. This is general advice, depends on the nature of the product or service, and relationship of the retailer and customer. A review of relevant business documents, agreements, and business relationship would be necessary for specific legal advice.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Sanford M. Martin, P.A. P.O. Box 110554 Naples, FL 34108-0110

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/09/11, 7:04 am by Sanford M. Martin

May a non-profit retailer condition its sale on an agreement with the customer. Yes. Is the customer required to sign the agreement. No, unless the customer wishes to purchase the product or service. So long as the agreement itself does not require the customer to commit an illegal act or other irrelevant act, the agreement may be required. This is general advice, depends on the nature of the product or service, and relationship of the retailer and customer. A review of relevant business documents, agreements, and business relationship would be necessary for specific legal advice.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Sanford M. Martin, P.A. P.O. Box 110554 Naples, FL 34108-0110

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/09/11, 7:05 am by Sanford M. Martin

May a non-profit retailer condition its sale on an agreement with the customer. Yes. Is the customer required to sign the agreement. No, unless the customer wishes to purchase the product or service. So long as the agreement itself does not require the customer to commit an illegal act or other irrelevant act, the agreement may be required. This is general advice, depends on the nature of the product or service, and relationship of the retailer and customer. A review of relevant business documents, agreements, and business relationship would be necessary for specific legal advice.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Sanford M. Martin, P.A. P.O. Box 110554 Naples, FL 34108-0110

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/09/11, 7:05 am by Sanford M. Martin

May a non-profit retailer condition its sale on an agreement with the customer. Yes. Is the customer required to sign the agreement. No, unless the customer wishes to purchase the product or service. So long as the agreement itself does not require the customer to commit an illegal act or other irrelevant act, the agreement may be required. This is general advice, depends on the nature of the product or service, and relationship of the retailer and customer. A review of relevant business documents, agreements, and business relationship would be necessary for specific legal advice.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Sanford M. Martin, P.A. P.O. Box 110554 Naples, FL 34108-0110

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 10/09/11, 7:05 am by Sanford M. Martin

May a non-profit retailer condition its sale on an agreement with the customer. Yes. Is the customer required to sign the agreement. No, unless the customer wishes to purchase the product or service. So long as the agreement itself does not require the customer to commit an illegal act or other irrelevant act, the agreement may be required. This is general advice, depends on the nature of the product or service, and relationship of the retailer and customer. A review of relevant business documents, agreements, and business relationship would be necessary for specific legal advice.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Sanford M. Martin, P.A. P.O. Box 110554 Naples, FL 34108-0110

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search