Florida | Business Law
Legal Question
Software vendor retaliates against consultant from work/income
Software vendor is Canadian company; wholly owned (subsidiary) by US parent co. inc. in Nevada. Vendor uses Consultants, contracted thru 3rd-party HR firm, to perform mainframe computer application software programming tasks for Vendor's Client. Tasks require Consultant to have access (by Hardware-Key) to Client's live db (millions of global customer’s financial info.) so Client requires (known by Vendor) Consultant to agree & sign strict Security Agreement (''Consultant will not permit Key to be used/possessed by anyone else.''). Consultant falls ill & tells Vendor of illness/Dr's Rx/recuperation time. Vendor orders Consultant to give Key to another for use while recuperating. Consultant questions Vendor's order & Vendor reiterates order claiming ''Authority from Client'' to issue order. Consultant complies (as required by contract w/ Vendor) and also rightfully notifies Client of ordered breach of Key possession. Client denies Vendor has authority to give such orders and disables Key's access ability. Now when Consultant is well & able to work, Vendor gives cold shoulder, refuses to assign work, refuses to answer phone call, email or postal mail contact, cutting Consultant off from income. What laws help Consultant recover income?


