Florida  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
11/11/09, 7:55 pm

Legal Question


In December 2008 I let my sister use my car because my license were suspended. I have asked her numerous times to return it and she refuses. I contacted the local law enforcement and they said that because I gave her the keys there is nothing they can do about it. It is considered a civil matter. I don't want to be held responsible if she gets into any trouble in the vehicle so is there anything I can do? I'm not as concerned about getting the car back as I am getting it away from her. She always threatens to plant drugs in the trunk and claim they are mine. She also has a fake tag on it because mine expired in June. Please help. can't get my license back until I either get insurance on that vehicle or get it out of my name.


question bubble
11/17/09, 4:02 pm

Legal Answer


Do you have another set of keys so you can go over there and get the car? You gave her the keys, but you still own the car. Her having the keys does not effect legal ownership or whether her possession of the vehicle is lawful.

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search