I pled guilty to a battery in 2011. I served no jail time and I was put on probation. I had to complete community service and batterer intervention. April 2012, I completed everything. January 2013, I purchased a gun from a dealer and passed the background check. Now I want to apply for a gun license, but I'm confused About the requirements to obtain one. It says, "you are NOT ELIGIBLE for a Florida concealed weapon license unless a period of three years has elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled (or the record has been sealed and expunged)." My question is; do I have to wait till 2015 (3years) or can I obtain a license now since I completed the court ordered community service and intervention program???
2 Answers from Attorneys
The answer is yes if your battery was domestic in nature. You may want to consult with an attorney about having your case sealed.
I realize my answer is unclear. I meant you will have to wait the 3 years before obtaining a CCP.
Related Questions & Answers
My wife was arrested one month later they came with a tag I SAID WE HAVE A ORLANDO... Asked 1/28/13, 5:40 pm in United States Florida Civil Rights Law
If a neighbors posts a written complaint and comment about another neighbor for the... Asked 1/26/13, 9:52 am in United States Florida Civil Rights Law
My child 4 years old got a bottom rash so it hurt and she cried at school. The... Asked 1/23/13, 6:47 pm in United States Florida Civil Rights Law
At a dental facility, we refused to get a recommended service and a manager told my... Asked 1/20/13, 3:03 am in United States Florida Civil Rights Law
What rights do 16 year old's have in Florida if they are not emancipated? Asked 11/27/12, 10:43 am in United States Florida Civil Rights Law