Florida  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
9/14/04, 1:28 pm

Legal Question


Fifth Amendment Rights At Booking, Etc.

1. Can an individual invoke his Fifth Amendment rights to not be compelled to be a witness against himself in a criminal matter and his right to counsel, if he is asked questions during booking, the answers to which might tend to incriminate him (or lead to other questions the answers to which could incriminate him) ?

2. Can an individual take the 5th and decline to answer questions posed by a pretrial services officer who seeks to determine whether and on what conditions to release him from custody, if that individual has reasonable cause to belief that his answers could be used against him in a criminal matter, including but not limited to a bail or detention hearing ?

3. Can an individual take the 5th and decline to answer questions posed by a probation officer or presentence investigator, if that individual has a reasonable fear that his answers could be used against him in a criminal matter, including but not limited to any kind of sentencing proceeding ?

4. Finally, can an individual take the 5th and decline to answer questions concerning his identity, if he has a reasonable fear that his answers could be used against him in any criminal matter, including an ''identity hearing'' ?

Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search