Florida | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Right to Counsel
-- When does the right to counsel attach under the 6th amendment ? Does it extend to: sentencing proceedings ?
appeal from a criminal conviction ? probation revocation proceedings ? How is that right invoked ?
-- What contrasts the 5th amendment right to counsel with that provided under the 6th ? How does one invoke the 5th amendment right to counsel ? Can fficials interrogate someone who has invoked his 5th amendment right to counsel, about: charged crimes ? uncharged crimes ? Is an individual who is in custody and his invoked his 5th amendment right to counsel deemed to be effectively and permanently ''question proof'' so long as he remains in custody (even if he is sentenced to life imprisonment), unless that individual initiates official contact ?
-- Is an individual who cannot afford an attorney guaranteed the right to the assistance of counsel under in a: non-custodial investigation ? custodial interrogation ? grand jury ? at initial appearance ? bail hearing ?
-- Under what circumstances can an accused represent himself in a criminal court proceeding ? What is the purpose of a Faretta hearing ? Is an accused required to answer questions posed at a Faretta hearing over his invocation of his 5th amendment right ?


