Florida | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
legislation for the benefit of an individual
I seem to recall that legislation for the benefit of an individual is unconstitutional - what I do not recall is what this type of legislation is called?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward Hoffman |
Re: legislation for the benefit of an individual Legislation *against* a particular individual is illegal, and such statutes are called bills of attainder.
I don't think there is a rule against legislation intended to benefit a particular person, and I note that both Congress and various state legislatures often vote to compensate individuals who have been injured by the government but who, for various reasons, have no right to damages. I don't know whether these actions take the form of actual legislation, but there is clear precedent that legislatures can act in some way for the benefit of one or more specific people. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Offices of Stuart M. Address, P.A.
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Stoffels Law Group
St. Petersburg, FL
Questions Answered: 256
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-09
florence f. hessen,esq
Wellington, FL
Questions Answered: 197
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-07
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Andrew C. Moler, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 57
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-20
Samuel A. Mutch, P.A.
Gainesville, FL
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-08
Search Questions and Answers


