Florida  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
3/15/05, 8:37 pm

Legal Question


Sixth Amendment Right to Counsel

I need help. My questions are, as follow:

1. Under what circumstances can a judge force an accused to defend himself in a criminal proceeding, including a sentencing hearing, without the assistance of counsel ?

2. Under what circumstances can a judge appoint counsel over a defendant's objection ?

3. What can a judge do to a defendant in a criminal matter who does not wish to waive any of his rights or privileges, including the Fifth Amendment right to remain silent, and refuses to answer questions regarding his indigency ?

4. What can a judge do to a defendant who appears at a criminal proceeding without counsel, invokes his Fifth Amendment right to remain silent, and refuses to knowingly and voluntarily waive his right to the assistance of counsel ?

5. What can a judge do to a party, witness or potential juror, who based on his sincerely-held religious beliefs invokes his First Amendment rights to freedom of religion/expression, and refuses to take any kind of oath, affirmation, attestation or declaration under penalty of perjury ?

6. Under what circumstances can a judge throw a defendant who does not wish to waive his rights or privileges in jail ?

Thank you, in advance, for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search