Legal Question in Construction Law in Florida

With a water leak destroying our kitchen and living room, our insurance company urged us to mitigate the damage ASAP. After a few days of plumbers blowing us off we found a contractor willing to get started immediately.

I signed a "Work Authorization" with them that I assumed (ugh) just covered the mitigation repairs, but now we see that he had scribbled in "mitigation + build back repairs" under "work to be performed" by the company.

It seems like this little phrase traps us into finishing the complete repairs ($10K+) with this company, despite the fact that there is no itemized list of work to be performed or mention of exactly what is to be "built back". Further, to cancel this contract we would need to pay upfront what is owed + 20% of the TOTAL insurance claim.

The reason we're considering breaking the contract is that they're vague about what they plan to do, they inflate each item reported to the insurance, and tell us we'll owe them "around $2K" above the claim. No matter what changes, we'll owe them.

Is it legal to write in "build back" on a Work Authorization, and does this bind us to any cost/work they dream up? Do we have any control/leverage here?

Asked on 10/08/13, 8:40 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

R. Jason de Groot R. Jason de Groot, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

There must be a meeting of the minds in order to have a contract. We would need to see all relevant documents before giving an opinion.

Read more
Answered on 10/10/13, 11:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Construction Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Construction Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now