Legal Question in Consumer Law in Florida

Okay, I brought my car 03/2013 from Shimons Cars in Florida. I was supposed to finance it through a bank, however they never completed my application therefore I never was financing the car through the bank I thought I was. I paid them $4000 in 03/2013 and then a payment was of $319 was made 04/22/2013. Another payment of $4000 was made 06/2013. I now owe them $491 for my tag. I explained to them I will sell the car, since I will be leaving for Dallas soon and I will give them the money from the sell. They stated I can not have the title until the car was paid off, but were wiling to tell the seller how much I owed and allow the sell as long as the seller paid them the $491 and gave me the difference. I attempted to sell the car to a dealership in Hollywood yesterday and that's when they gave me the news that from their CarFax report the title was branded with an odometer discrepancy issue in 2010. I took this report to my car dealership and they stated they had know knowledge of this. They pulled up an "electronic title" and saw it was clean. They then ran an AutoCheck that they claim is what every financing company used and saw there was in fact a odometer discrepancy but could not tell when this happened. The last reported activity, though not in detail, was reported in 05/2013. The seller said he would help me in this situation but he has not gotten back to me at all and is dodging my call.

Asked on 7/11/13, 11:34 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Angelo Marino Angelo Marino Jr. PA
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This sounds like a classic case of auto fraud. I suggest you contact a consumer lawyer. See www.ConsumerLawyerHelp.com. I handle these types of cases.

Read more
Answered on 7/11/13, 1:18 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now