Florida  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
12/14/07, 10:47 am

Legal Question


Car Broke down after bought

In May 07 I bought an 02 nissan sentra from a hole the wall dealership that helps people build credit ( I had no credit so this was one of my few options). The car had 75541 miles on it. When I went to pull the car away I noticed that the engine light was on and when I asked what was the reason the salesman said it was probably something to do with the gas cap. I know this my fault for not stopping immediately there and asking them to fix it, but it was my first car purchase. Two months later (almost exactly to the day) I'm driving to my first day of work (I had moved from Port St. Lucie, Fl to West Palm Beach, Fl) I stop at a red light hit the gas when it turns green and the car shuts off. I call the dealer and he says ''bummer, you can bring it back to us but we'll charge you dealer price''. So I take it to a mechanic and he tells me the timing chain broke so I pretty much need a new engine, which is about $3000. Mind you I bought this car on a two year payment plan of $305 a month and 29.35% A.P.R. I need to know is there anything I can do? Don't I have rights as a consumer? All these monthly payments for a car that I'm not even driving. It doesn't seem right I know a lot is my fault but I need help any will do thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search