Florida  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 8:20 pm

Legal Question


Do I have any legal rights if I was tricked into signing a document under false pretense? Cause my transmission mechanic had me sign a contract without even explaining to me what I was signing. we had a verbal contract for one thing then my mechanic changed his mind on me. He had me sign one thing with the intentions of another, and he even asked me for my car title of which I find very suspicious cause no other mechanic has ever asked me for my title before. He also never gave me a copy of what I was sighing. What are my rights on this?? Also is a verbal contract binding just as much as a written one??

Sincerely,

Magdalene from Northeastern FL


question bubble
11/19/09, 8:46 pm

Legal Answer


A verbal contract is binding. If you were induced into signing the contract by fraud, it can be rescinded. That is a very very hard case to prove, though. Get a copy of you contract and get you title back.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 9:27 am

Legal Answer


Magdalene, You have an obligation to read a contract before signing it. Still, you may be able to use the fact that you were "tricked" to invalidate the contract. A verbal contract can be binding, but it is difficult to prove because it will be your word against his. Did you give the mechanic a copy of your title? If you did, get it back and don't do that again. Regards,

Lesly Longa

Longa Law P.A. 511 W Bay Street, Suite 350 Tampa, 33606

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search