Legal Question in Consumer Law in Florida

I purchased a used car from a dealership a few weeks ago, after two weeks I had trouble with it and called them, and they came and picked up the car that day. I didn't hear from the rest of the day so I called them and they said the car would be ready the next day. I went to pick it up the next day and they tried to charge me $200 for repairs. I never agreed to any repairs and was made to believe any work in the first month was under warranty. I was never shown any paperwork for what was done and easily could have fixed what I was told was wrong for less then $100. To my knowledge any repair has to be spoken about and agreed upon between shop and consumer before any work can be done so that sides can agree upon price or to take it somewhere else if they can't If not then shops can do any work and charge as much as they want. I NEVER received a phone call or agreed to ANY work or ANY prices. Is this legal or do I have a case to get my money back, they wouldn't allow me to get my car back without paying up, which i'm pretty sure is against the law under the circumstances.

Asked on 8/13/09, 8:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Wagner Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

They cannot charge you for work that you never agreed to pay for.

Read more
8/13/09, 9:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Consumer Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now