Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
What is the allowable "collection cost" that can be added to a debt collection? The law says reasonable atty fees & collection cost. What is reasonable?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Philip Duvalsaint |
There is no precise definition. If you propose a certain cost, then I could tell you whether I thought it is reasonable. Usually this means that if the prevailing rate for attorney's in that part of the state for that type of work is $250/hour, then your attorney can't ask for $500/hour for the same work. More importantly, you can only get an award of attorney's fees if you had a licensed attorney representing you. Costs must be applied for as well. Experience will inform attorneys as to whether a particular cost is reasonable. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7772
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2836
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Angelo Marino Jr. PA
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1808
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


