Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Cosigner
I cosigned for a car for my daughter in 2001 in PA and she was of legal age. I now live in Florida and received a summons. Apparently my daughter defaulted a long time ago. I never received any notification that this was happening and also found out the loan had been sold somtime ago also and was not notified. I have since put the attorney and finance company in touch with her. She has agreed to work somthing out with them and they accepted her payment offer but they still want to take me to court ''because they can.'' Has this now crossed a line? To say harassment possibly. In addition to putting them intouch with her I have also offered to try and work somthing out to relieve interest and settle for the original charged off amount, but they are not cooperating. Needless to say since I was not aware of this occurring there should be some relief. Also I noticed by searching on line that there is a federal notification to cosigners that is required, to the best of my recolection I do not remeber receiving this. The car was purchased in PA but I received the summons here in Florida.


