Florida | Credit and Debt Law
5/16/10, 1:33 pm
Legal Question
Can a credit card company place a lien on my home and force foreclosure proceedings for a debt of $45,000?
Can a credit card company place a lien on my home and force foreclosure proceedings for a debt of $45,000?
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Meyer |
If the credit card company sues you and obtains a judgment against you, the judgment acts a lien upon your home. If you have the homestead exemption, then the credit card company can take no action to foreclose on your home. However, if you sell your home or refinance the mortgage, then you may have to pay off the judgment at that time.
The credit card company might also be able to seize other assets that you have to pay off the judgment.
If you do not have the homestead exemption, then the credit card company can ask the court to order that your home be sold to pay off the judgment. |
|
Read More Answered By: Angelo Marino |
The above explaination is why you should consult a consumer lawyer who may be able to even win the case against you and collect his or her fee from the credit card comp. Want to know the law? Sign up for our free newsletter on varies areas of the law by sending an email to amjrpamail@aol.com and requesting the newsletter, or go to www.ConsumerLawyerHelp.com. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7765
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2830
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1808
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► I work at a restaurant in Miami and I have a question about credit card transctions....
► Received a summons from the circuit court for a credit card debt, We are 68 & 71...
► As part of a final judgement, I recieved a Fact Information Sheet in the mail from...
► Hello We ask for freight, about 4 months ago. From BARNYARD “CUSTOMS 2645 STATE HWY...
► I received a call from an attorney who said that he was representing a lender. He...
► I am a single mom that resides in Florida. I received a final judgement against me...
► If a non collateral creditor sells a loan and charges off the full amount, can the...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press