Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
debt of incapacitated person in Florida
Problem: Incapacitated person with fairly signifcant credit card debt. This person's only significant assets are a trailerhome and the land on which the home is located.
Questions: What is the best course of action for a general power of attorney to protect those assets (i.e. writing to the credit card companies to explain situation, filing bankruptcy for incapacitated person, filing some kind of exemption if creditors seek judgment)? Also, what is the likely course of action of the credit card companies when bills cease to be paid? Can they automatically slap a lien on the property or must they go to court to get a lien?


