Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
failure to appear at civil trial
I'm being sued for failure to repay a loan. I'm pretty sure I will lose. What if I don't appear. What if I don't contest .
failure to appear at civil trial
I'm being sued for failure to repay a loan. I'm pretty sure I will lose. What if I don't appear. What if I don't contest .
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: failure to appear at civil trial NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
If you do not appear, a judgment will be entered against you for the full amount that is being sought. Execution of the judgment will be forthwith (immediately). The Plaintiff/lender can then take whatever steps necessary to try and collect on the judgment.
Alternatively, if you do appear, then you can try and work out a repayment plan with payments being spread out over a period of time. The court will work with you to try and help mediate the matter upon terms which you believe you can uphold. This is a valuable tool to aid in resolution of the case which you will lose by not appearing.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. |
|
Read More Answered By: Stuart M. Address |
Re: failure to appear at civil trial If you don't appear you will lose by default and the amount of the judgment will likely be higher than if you at least appear because they will claim anything they can and it will be unrebutted. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► Lawsuit from credit card company. Being sued by credit card company. I know my home...
► Debt If a final judgement has been passed between two people for debt. What is one...
► Being sued for old debt My husband has just reciecved 2 summonses from 2 seperate...
► Lean on car I have really bad credit, so when I purchased my car my credit was so...
► Where can I file a complaint against creditor? Where can I file a complaint againt a...
► Power of attorney liabilty I have power of attorney for my mother who has...
► Statute of limitations what is the statute of limitation for action against a home...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press