Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
I had a judgment ordered against me in 2004. It recently lapsed. I did not owe the money to begin with, however, I didn't make it to the court hearing on time due to a family emergency. A default judgment was issued against me, even though I did show up, however, I arrived two minutes after the proceedings had begun, which angered the judge. I wasn't given time to state my case due to the fact that I was late (which I was told "used up all my time"). At the time, I didn't realize that I could have asked the judgment to be set aside, so I just accepted it, and ignored it. I just noticed on sunbiz.org that it had lapsed back in August. What should I do now? Can I have it removed from my credit report? Are there any actions I can take to rectify this situation.


