Florida  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 9:01 am

Legal Question


if a lawsuit is filed in jan 08 and the sol run out in oct 08 is there a time limit it must go court or should it be thrown out


question bubble
11/20/09, 9:26 am

Legal Answer


The statute of limitations is simply a date by which the case must be filed. It is not a date by which the case must be tried. You can, for instance, file the case on the last day of the SOL.

Alan Wagner

Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 9:28 am

Legal Answer


The statute of limitations acts as a bar to filing a complaint (lawsuit) beyond a certain period of time after the cause of action accrued. So, as long as the complaint is filed before the statute of limitations runs out, the claim is timely. The court case can proceed well beyond the sol.

Sarah Grosse

Sarah Grosse, Esquire sarahgrossejd@hotmail.com New Port Richey, FL 34655

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 12:22 pm

Legal Answer


My colleagues Mr. Wagner and Ms. Grosse are correct. Having filed the complaint prior to the expiration date of the Statute of Limitations, the case is good to go.

Lucreita Becude

Lucreita D. Becude, P.A. 12469 Antler Hill Drive, N Jacksonville, FL 32224

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search