Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
There's a lawsuit filed against me. If I am not notified by certified letter or in person by a public offical can the case go on?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Steven Meyer |
When the lawsuit is filed, a process server will attempt to deliver the lawsuit paperwork to you in person. If they were not able to find you, then, with the judge's permission they can potentially put a notice in the newspaper and that judge will deem that good service.
You can call the clerk's office in the courthouse and ask them to look in the file. They will tell you what the status of the lawsuit is. If you have received the lawsuit papers, or if you have been notified by the placement of a legal notice in the newspaper (whether you actually read the notice or not), then you should file something in court right away, or else you could lose the case by default. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Angelo Marino Jr. PA
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


