Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Liability
If I claim my 48 year old homeless son as a dependent on my income tax form,, will I then become liable for all his unpaid bills which are in collectors hands?
Liability
If I claim my 48 year old homeless son as a dependent on my income tax form,, will I then become liable for all his unpaid bills which are in collectors hands?
|
Read More Answered By: Jeff Biddle |
Re: Liability No. They have no contractual relationship with you and cannot collect his debts from you. You may however have a potential tax liability if your son isn't actually your dependent. I'm certainly not going to tell the IRS, though. |
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► Co-signer I co-signed a student loan for a friend. Now she is not paying it. There...
► Civil judgement I received a judgement on a past renter. It has been 6 years with...
► Debts of a Deceased Person Under what circumstances would an adult child be...
► Rent colections IS there a Statue of lImitation on rent collection in Florida, and...
► Financial Obligations for Deceased Relative If a person dies with basically no...
► Paying credit card for deceased person My spouse died and had a number of credit...
► Proposed Final Judgment Received a letter from Plaintiff's attorney, stating it was...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press