Florida  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
12/24/07, 5:23 pm

Legal Question


paying joint bills after a divorce

the divorce decree stated we both are responsible for debts. I paid all of the debts (I remarried and refinanced). I have an email from the ex stating he would be paying two of the bills and that I did not need to pay them - I chose to pay to get rid of them to make the refinance go smoother - I have receipts. Now an IRS bill is due, with interest. Is it worth hiring an attorney to get the money back from the debts I paid and to ensure he pays the IRS bill?

Thanks!!

p.s. he also claimed my son on 200 taxes - my son never lived with him and he never paid child support.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search