Florida  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
12/19/07, 10:24 am

Legal Question


property protection questions

I've been served a summons to appear in court to deal with a past credit card debt. My questions are: Me AND my wife have aquired all of our personal property together, using monies made by the both of us as a married couple. Our 3 vehicles, 1 boat, 1 motorcycle, 1 enclosed trailer are titled as ''or'' instead of ''and''. Even though it is listed as ''or'', it has always been presumed that we have held the property as TBE - It is as much hers as it is mine. If we were to change the titles from ''or'' to ''and'', would that be considered a fraudulent conveyance to shield assets from creditor? Also, the Florida Supreme Court makes the presumption that jointly owned property purchased and owned by the married couple is considered to be owned as TBE. Is that also true?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search