Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Florida

Our small Florida condominium association had a lien on a condo where the owner did not pay any assessments or HOA fees since she moved into the condo in 2005. She owed $35000 when the condo was recently foreclosed on by Fannie Mae. Fannie Mae offer $6000 to the association for the past due amount citing a new Florida law(?). If the association accepts this can we still hold the previous owner to the remaining $29000? She own a house and a realtor business in Mass. Since then, the previous owner took her furniture out of storage and moved it back into the condo. (she is a realtor and she somehow got the combination for the lock box) She is now gloating she got out of an underwater mortgage, avoiding paying the lien and since Fannie Mae delivered the legal papers to the wrong address she said she was entitled to move back into the condo...

Any advice would be very helpful. Can we attach a lien onto her house in Mass?

Asked on 4/22/13, 9:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You must first obtain a judgment against her in Fla. and them have it domesticated in Mass.

Read more
Answered on 4/22/13, 10:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88693 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Craig EpifanioCraig Epifanio, P.A.St Petersburg, FL
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now