Florida  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
12/24/07, 9:28 pm

Legal Question


Being Sued for Credit Card Debt

I have a credit card that had a balance of $894. I started paying payments of $15 per month in October and in November I was notified that they were suing me and they have charged me $500 for filing suit. Since the current balance is about $1300 I am not sure what will happen next. My husband and I own our home and it is homesteaded, we have three cars that still have loans and we both work. What assets are protected? Is there a general rule of how much they could garnish if they won a judgement? We have far more expenses than income but I am not sure what they classify as acceptable expenses. Thanks for any information.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search