Florida  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
12/19/07, 10:43 pm

Legal Question


summons of credit card debt

I have been summoned to appear in court due to 6mths nonpayment on a capital one credit card. My husband was involuntarily dismissed from his employment of 10yrs. due to massive layoffs. Since then, I cannot afford to pay on my credit cards, not in his name. We have three children, and abosolutely no money to pay on these cards. My plans are to appear in court and let them know just that. I am unable to pay these cards at this time, unless they want me to take food and shelter away from my children, which my children come first and I will not allow that to happen, because of unfortunate circumstances that happen in life! What will come next do you think, after I appear in court and having absolutely not a dime to pay to this creditor? All assets are in my husbands name only, house, cars, etc. I do work part time to take care of my children, while my husband works full time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search