Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
If I have tge limited power of attorney, can I represent my wife in court, in a civil lawsuit? Also, plaintiff violated FTC's laws.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Philip Duvalsaint |
In small claims you might be able to. Representing another person when you are not licensed is the unlicensed practice of law. The Constitution of the State of Florida gives the Supreme Court of Florida the power to regulate the conduct of attorneys. Through this constitutional grant of authority, the Supreme Court of Florida has the inherent authority to regulate and prevent the practice of law by individuals who are not licensed to practice law in Florida. The court created The Florida Bar and requires all lawyers to be members of that organization which funds the total cost of the lawyer discipline system and the unlicensed practice of law system. The Florida Bar acts as prosecutor in unlicensed practice of law cases, much like the state attorney's office does in criminal cases. Unlicensed Practice of Law (UPL) committees, of which one-third of the members are not lawyers, investigate instances of unlicensed practice of law. Florida Bar prosecutions are filed with the Supreme Court of Florida and trials are held before judges, called referees, appointed by the court.
Engaging in the unlicensed practice of law in Florida is also a crime. It is a third degree felony. For this reason, the State Attorney also has the power to bring criminal charges against an individual for practicing law without a license.
The Federal Trade Commission does not have any laws. It promulgates rules and regulations. Violation of some of those rules & regulations could lead to civil and/or criminal penalties. |
Top Attorneys in FL
David P. Slater, Esq.
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 7776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Rosenfeld & Stein, P.A.
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 1896
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-24
Angelo Marino Jr. PA
Ft Lauderdale,
Questions Answered: 1811
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
Tallahassee, FL
Questions Answered: 928
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


