Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Florida

Wage garnishment on a 1099 Independent Contractor in Florida

We received a "Writ of Garnishment" from NY where we are listed as the "Garnishee". This garnishment is for one of our 1009 Independent Contractors. Everything I have researched on wage garnishment refers to garnishment of their "Disposable Earnings". How do we determine the amount of "Disposable Earnings" for her so we are garnishing the right amount if we do not take out taxes? She still will have to pay taxes on this income at some point?

Asked on 7/01/13, 10:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Are you paying weekly wages? If so, the garnishment is computed on the entire monthly amount owed.

Read more
Answered on 7/01/13, 10:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now