Florida  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
6/10/05, 9:20 am

Legal Question


worthless checks and civil damages

I am newly admitted and filed a civil action for worthless checks. I would like to know if treble damages are considered punitive in a civil action. My problem is that the judge wants to transfer the case to circuit court because the treble damages caused the case the exceed the jurisdicitional amount. I beleive that treble damages are punitive and should not be included as part of the pricipal amount. Am I correct and is there a case that supports my position?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search