I was arrested for agg. battery w/ deadly weapon. It has been 14 days and no charges have been officially filed. how long does it take for the state to file charges in florida without evidence? i was battered and hospitalized and pressed charges against the "victim".
1 Answer from Attorneys
While there is no such thing as a "normal" case, charges tend to be filed within the first 45 days. That said, they have up to 175 days purusant to the speedy trial in order to file formal charges.
Related Questions & Answers
I want to do if a doctor can withold lab results until your next appointment Asked 7/15/11, 6:24 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
I took a bad plea bargain based on the fact that my public defender neglected to... Asked 7/14/11, 1:46 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
My daughter's fiance was arrested for possession of cocaine with intent to sell.... Asked 7/14/11, 11:29 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
The court lacked subject matter jurisdiction in my case the state conceeded that the... Asked 7/13/11, 7:35 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
Is it possible for an individual to be tried both by state government and federal... Asked 7/13/11, 11:56 am in United States Florida Criminal Law