Florida | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I was arrested in 1995 in Florida and charged with bringing drugs into the country. I was innocent, and the facts surounding the matter are too long to list here and i can explain further if asked. I was able to prove this at the time.The lawyer my aunt hired was paid alot of money to argue the case and i was not present during my arraignment as well as other court dates because i live in CT. He aparently pled on my behalf no contest ( he was not supposed to do that) and told me i would not have a record after C.S. and a probation period. He was paid a great deal of money and I was a kid and oblivious to all of it. I am now 34. I work in human services for the past 12 years. I work with "at risk youth" in a group home setting. I teach Life Skill to teens and mentor and council youth that are DCF committed. i'm a mother and a good citizen. I was recently denied for a public service endorsment on my license,(required for my job) due to this. I had no clue I had this record in FL. I was floored.My ability to support my child depends on this endorsment as it is a new requirement in my feild. I heard i could possibly get a pardon or have my record expunged. I have never been in trouble outside of this. Is this possible?


