Florida  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 9:25 pm

Legal Question


The cops showed up at my apartment today and they said they had information that I was selling pills. I tried to tell them to leave, but I live with my aunt and they called her to ask if they could search. She allowed them to, they found 3 pills in my room, and now they want me to call a detective tomorrow to set a drug dealer up. I did not get charged with anything yet, what should I do?


question bubble
11/21/09, 9:47 pm

Legal Answer


You definitely want to contact an experienced criminal/drug defense attorney in your area. My office handles these types of cases throughout the Tampa Bay area and I am a former prosecutor in Pinellas/Pasco counties with offices across the street from the Pinellas County Criminal Justice Center and Jail.

If you have any specific questions, please give my office a call and/or send me a direct email. Right now you are looking at Possession of a Controlled Substance, which is a Third Degree Felony, punishable by up to five (5) years in prison and/or probation. If they start investigating you, there could be additional charges for Doctor Shopping, Obtaining a Controlled Substance by Fraud, etc.

As it stands now, you'll want to speak with an attorney BEFORE doing any "substantial assistance" i.e., speaking to law enforcement.

Good luck,

Aaron J. Slavin, Esq.

SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC

727.474.3785

Aaron Slavin

Slavin Law Firm, LLC 4707 140th Avenue North, Suite 211 Clearwater, FL 33762

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 4:45 pm

Legal Answer


You need to speak to an attorney right away. Sometimes it can be beneficial to "assist" the cops. From what you write in your case, I do NOT think this is one of those times. It sounds like even if you had gotten arrested, it might have been an illegal search. You should not talk to the officers anymore because by helping them it often times becomes a "trap" for many people that they can't escape because of the threats the officers use. I'm in your area if you wish to give me a call at 727-528-1859.

Craig Epifanio

Craig Epifanio

Craig Epifanio, P.A. 5445 16th Street N St Petersburg, FL 33703

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search