Florida  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/30/09, 1:07 pm

Legal Question


Is a Florida Homestead protected from Criminal fraud charges in another state?


question bubble
11/04/09, 3:00 pm

Legal Answer


In Florida the Homestead is protected from judgment creditors, in most all situations. Charges are not the same as a judgment. If you have been found liable to a creditor and a judgment has been entered then that creditor is judgment creditor. A finding of fraud in the underlying judgment generally has no effect on the Homestead protection which prevents a judgment creditor from forcing the sale of your home in order to satisfy the judgment. (This of course does not apply to foreclosure actions.) This does not mean that a lien can not be placed on Homestead property. In some cases a judgment creditor will still lien the property and if you sell it within 20 years then they will seek proceeds (provided the debt is still owed)

In order to claim a lien against Florida property the out of state judgment must be "domesticated" properly first.

Where the fraud issue comes into play most often is in Bankruptcy proceedings. Here a judgment based on fraud will not be discharged through a bankruptcy. Also, if the Homestead was somehow part of the fraud then a court may deny the homestead protection.

If you have a pending situation you should spend some time to personally consult with an Asset Attorney in Florida to advise you specifically.

William Gwaltney

William W. Gwaltney, Attorneys at Law
4832 Kerry Forest Parkway, Suite B
Tallahassee, FL 32309

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search