Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

My friend who is in prison did not file for an appeal in the 2 year time frame, because his transcripts were sent to the prison,but they never gave them to him. The courts now say this is not a reason to grant a belated appeal, that he should have filed an appeal anyway, using his best recollection. If he would have done so and it was denied because he didn't have the info he needed to make a reasonable argument, would that have made a difference?

Asked on 5/11/12, 12:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It could have made a difference. It may be possible to file other post-conviction motions.

Read more
Answered on 5/14/12, 3:52 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now