Florida  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 5:15 pm

Legal Question


My husband violated probation on two occasions for failing drug screenings. He was reinstated to probation, but was given a 60 month suspended sentence, which is the maximum penalty for the original crime. If he violates again for a technical violation, will he automatically have to serve the 60 month suspended sentence? Do they take into account any factors and/or modify the suspended sentence?


question bubble
11/20/09, 6:43 pm

Legal Answer


It's not automatic. The judge has discretion to go below the 60 months but generally speaking, a judge is not going to be too happy with multiple violations and he needs an attorney to mitigate the sentence as much as possible.

Craig Epifanio

Craig Epifanio, P.A. 5445 16th Street N St Petersburg, FL 33703

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search