Say a person id a convicted felon. gets caught carrying a fireaem & pills with out a perscription. how much time is this person looking at?
1 Answer from Attorneys
You could be charged both under state law and federal law; in fact, both could file charges against you and double jeopardy does NOT apply. Under state law there is a mandatory minimum of 3 years. Under federal law, there is a mandatory minimum of 5 years. Depending on the facts the minimums could rise and the maximum could be life. It goes without saying that you need an attorney immediately.
Related Questions & Answers
Hello, can i plead out at a docket review in florida? Asked 12/09/10, 5:56 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
1st question, in reference to a restraining order, what is a ''return of service''... Asked 12/09/10, 4:45 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
How to I go about getting my record expunged in the state of Florida? I've... Asked 12/09/10, 10:23 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
The Mother of my grandaughter has a long and severe drug history. She has been... Asked 12/09/10, 9:58 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
I was given a VOP for a misdeameanor back in April of 2010. It was for violation of... Asked 12/09/10, 8:22 am in United States Florida Criminal Law