Re: no probable cause????
ADVICE TO RECIPIENT: The information and opinions contained herein are based upon the limited amount of information that you provided. Our response to your query is not intended to serve as legal advice upon which you should rely or act. In order for you to be confident that you can rely and act on information provided by an attorney, you should establish an attorney-client relationship, meet with the attorney and have an open and honest dialog, during which you disclose all the pertinent information and thereafter receive a reliable opinion from your lawyer.
CONFIDENTIALITY NOTE: The information contained in this transmission may be privileged and confidential information, and is intended only for the use of the individual or entity named above. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this transmission in error, please immediately reply to the sender that you have received this communication in error and then delete it. Thank you.
CIRCULAR 230 NOTICE: To comply with U.S. Treasury Department and IRS regulations, we are required to advise you that, unless expressly stated otherwise, any U.S. federal tax advice contained in this transmittal, is not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, by any person for the purpose of (i) avoiding penalties under the U.S. Internal Revenue Code, or (ii) promoting, marketing or recommending to another party any transaction or matter addressed in this e-mail or attachment.
From the limited information you have provided let me give you my best guess as to what occurred. Someone was arrested and that person then appeared before a judge after his or her arrest. At that first appearance, the judge had the responsibility to determine whether there was probable cause for the arrest and to then set bond. The judge apparently decided there was no probable cause or insufficient probable cause and accordingly released the arrestee on his or her own personal recognizance so that the arrestee did not have to post a bond. The prosecutor could still file charges if he or she determines that there is sufficient evidence to proceed with the case.