Florida | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I recently went to court on 10/07/09 for an early termination of probation review, and the Judge advised me that I have to pay back my co-defendant's restitution before I can get off of probation. When I went to see my PO on Wed., he advised me that the only money that is showing in their system is the rest of my restitution, nothing about my co-defendant's. I called the Judge's office and spoke with her assistant and she advised me that they had no way of knowing how much I owe, that whatever the PO says I owe, I need to pay that. My question is, if I pay what the PO has in his system and I get termination papers, can the courts put me back on probation and make me pay my co-defendant's money?
Legal Answer
Restitution is joint and several liable, meaning no one gets off probation until the full amount is paid, regardless of who pays more or in what proportion. So the judge is saying he is not going to terminate you until he is satified the whole amount has been paid.
Valerie Masters, P.A.
301 Clematis Street Suite 3000
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Top Areas of Law


