Florida | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Shot at dog to defend my cat
My cat was in my neighbors yard. The neighbors were not home. There dog attacked my cat. I shot at the dog during the attack and missed. The dog ran away. My cat died 15 minutes later. The neighbors found out about it from other neighbors when they got home and called the police. The police are charging me with public display of firearm and discharge.
Florida Constitution says we have the right to protect life and property. Will I need a lawyer? How should I plead.
I do not have any record.


