Legal Question in Criminal Law in Florida

Can the state attorney remove a minor without notifing the minor's attorney or parents and have them charged as an adult and moved to an adult facility from a juvenile facility? this is in Hillsborough county, tampa florida...This is a first time offense for the minor. He has already served 21days in the juvenile facility. we had a scheduled arraignment for the minor 11/14-

Asked on 11/05/11, 12:41 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The state attorney ALONE has the discretion to charge any juvenile as an adult. So the answer to your question is yes. Sometimes your attorney can talk to the state about amending it back to a juvenile charge. If you have not hired an attorney yet, or if you have not contacted the public defender, do one of those immediately.

Read more
11/06/11, 3:54 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now