Florida | Criminal Law
12/28/09, 2:00 pm
Legal Question
In the state of Florida is it illegal to spit on another person? What is the crime? What are the penalties?
In the state of Florida is it illegal to spit on another person? What is the crime? What are the penalties?
|
Read More Answered By: Aaron Slavin |
If you spit on someone else and its against their will, it could be prosecuted as a "Battery" in the State of Florida. If you spit on a police officer, it could be filed as a "Battery on a Law Enforcement Officer," which is a Third Degree Felony punishable by up to five (5) years in prison.
Normally, the misdemeanor battery would be punishable by up to one (1) year in the County Jail and/or one (1) year of misdemeanor probation with court ordered family violence counseling/classes.
Hope that helps,
Aaron J. Slavin, Esq. SLAVIN LAW FIRM, LLC www.slavinlawfirm.com 727.474.3785 1.877.HIRE.SLF |
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
Spitting on someone is assault and battery. I don't know how you can be in a self-defense situation with spit. This is clearly illegal and chargable as a crime.
Do not send me an email over this issue. I will reject it because I don't want you to spit on me. |
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
St Petersburg, FL
Questions Answered: 2075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Fort Myers, FL
Questions Answered: 492
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 426
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Kissimmee, FL
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 360
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-07
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
► What happens if a police officer does'nt show ofter receiving a sopena?
► I was put on 6 months of probation for two misdemeanor cases of obtaining property...
► I have been in the PTI program in Tampa, Florida for about 13 months. I got arrested...
► I just found out there is a warrant for my arrest for failure to appear on a...
► What would happen to my child, if he is caught stealing from a department store for...
► My current girlfriend is threatening to release embarrassing pictures of me to my...
► I was charged with drug trafficking and I'm facing 3 yr mm. At the time my father...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press