Florida | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
okay i am 16 almost and the guy i like is 19 i have know him for 2 years and want to be able to date him is it against the law or are my parents being stupid by saying it is?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
Dating is never illegal; it's the physical part that can be criminal. In the State of Florida, the legal age of consent is 16. In fact, it is not a crime for a person under the age of 24 to have a consentual sexual relationship with a person 16 years of age or older. This is not true in many other states in which the legal age of consent is 18, so your parents probably aren't "stupid", but may be familiar with other state's laws but not FL.
You may refer to FL Statutes 794.05 (Unlawful sexual activity with certain minors) and 800.04 (Lewd or lascivious offenses committed on or in the presence of persons less than 16 years of age. FL Statutes can be found at www.leg.state.fl.us.
Good luck with your relationship. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Kelly James Henderson, P.A.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Questions Answered: 543
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-02
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
The Sheldon Law Firm
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 475
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-19
Law Offices of Stuart M. Address, P.A.
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Law Office of Gordon T. Nicol
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 138
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-26
Samuel A. Mutch, P.A.
Gainesville, FL
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-08
Bonifield, Friedman & Leifer, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 48
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-20
Search Questions and Answers


