I received a DUI in Florida in May 2012, and a conviction in January 2013. I live in Florida and at the time of the DUI I had lived in the state of Florida for two years but possessed a valid Virginia drivers license, (I was enrolled in a Florida College). My Virginia drivers license was surrendered to the DMV in Florida and I have paid for a Florida identification card. I went to the Florida DMV to get a Florida hardship license which in Florida I am legal to have, however the Florida DMV informed me that they could not issue the license due to Virginia revoking my driving privileges. In addition to lifting the revocation, Virginia is claiming I must provide copies of the classes and their content that were taken in Florida and they want me to provide proof of FR 44 insurance and pay $220.00 dollar re-instatement fee, however I live in Florida and do not wish to have a Virginia drivers license. I can't get car insurance without a valid drivers license. Is it legal for Virginia to require a punishment when I've already fulfilled or am fulfilling all of the requirements in the state of Florida?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Yes it's legal. Since you were on a VA driver's license, you will have to abide by their rules. Once you comply with VA rules, and you get the all clear from them, then you can get a FL driver's license. It gets very complex when dealing with more than one state but the DMVs of every state don't want it to be easy for you.
Related Questions & Answers
How long does the court give a person to pay off dui fine in florida Asked 6/02/13, 3:41 pm in United States Florida Drunk Driving & DUI Law
My boss got arrested march 3 for dwi, possession of coke and smuggling into... Asked 5/26/13, 12:26 pm in United States Florida Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Who was in the wrong if other person got a alcohol test in a accident Asked 5/25/13, 6:48 pm in United States Florida Drunk Driving & DUI Law
In a drunk driving/manslaughter case in the state of Florida ; is there any limit as... Asked 5/08/13, 2:56 pm in United States Florida Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I was held for 871 days in the duval county jail with a $140,000.00 bond and was... Asked 4/29/13, 7:40 pm in United States Florida Drunk Driving & DUI Law