Florida  |  DUI Law

question bubble
7/13/10, 10:28 am

Legal Question


My son was charged with an open container in Florida while he was parked with a girl in the car. She was the one with the open container and the police gave him a breath test, which showed he had nothing to drink. Since the car was not moving is this still a traffic infraction, instead of a open container, like they were in a park instead? Can this be pleaded to something lesser since he was not drinking? Also, while he was reading the citation the police officer insisted that he sign the ticket. He said he didn't have a pen, once given one by the police he continued to read the citation. At this time the officer arrested him for not signing the citation and resisting arrest w/o violence. He spent the night and all the next day in the Broward County jail. I had to post $100 bond and pay $135.00 to have his car towed. Wasn't he entitled to a reasonable amount of time to read the charges against him?


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search