Florida | DUI Law
Legal Question
I am writing a novel and part of my storyline involves a drunk driving fatality and I need some advice on how the legal case would procede.
Here's my scenario:
The drunk driver crosses the yellow line, forcing an oncoming driver to swerve and hit a telephone pole. The victim does at the hospital a few hours later. The drunk driver is so out it that he doesn't realize that he's caused an accident, so he keeps on driving and is arrested for DUI further down the road in another county. Blood Alcohol Level of .18. After sobering up, the drunk driver begins to remember the accident and tells the officers, who are able to connect it to the victim's death.
Here is where I need some help:
Could the drunk driver be charged with Vehicular Manslaughter based on his own testimony or would there need to be eyewitness to place him at the scene?
What about Leaving the Scene of an Accident? Would they need eyewitnesses for that too?
If eyewitness information is vague or sketchy, what could they charge this driver with?
I've never been involved in a court case myself, so I need a little help with the judicial process as well:
How soon would he be arraigned?
Since the DUI arrest took place in one county and the accident in another, where would the case be tried?
If he pleads guilty, how quickly would the sentence be handed down?
This drunk driver has no priors, so I assume the Judge would be lenient. What kind of sentence would you expect?
You may not be able to speak to this, but I'm also wondering if the victim's widow would have the basis for a wrongful death suit. If so, how do they fix a dollar amount?
Thank you so much, I really appreciate your help.
Jannie Baker


