Florida  |  Elder Law

question bubble
1/02/08, 3:40 pm

Legal Question


credit card debt of incapacitated person in Florida

state: Florida

How can a general POA protect the trailer home and land that the home is on of an incapacitated person from creditors (specifically credit card companies)? The only debt is from credit card companies. The incapacitated person owns a trailer home and the land which the home is on. Can the credit card companies automatically slap a lien on the property or must they go to court to do so? Is such a person considered judgment proof if there are no other assets? What actions can a Power of Attorney (i.e. bankruptcy, claim exemption, write to creditors) take to protect these assets?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search