Legal Question in Elder Law in Florida

My Mom has just been enrolled in Medicaid. The two family house she shared with my sister in New York is in a trust with me and my sister as trustees. We will inherit the house upon Mom passing. My Mom has always paid all the expenses for the property but her social security will now go to the nursing facility where she resides. My question is do I have any obligation (legal or otherwise) to pay for any of the expenses (utilities,isurance, taxes, etc) that will now be incurred? I live in another part of the country (Florida)and have no desire to pay for expenses since I will not be living there. I want to be fair to my sister but don't know what to do. Thank you.

Asked on 5/21/13, 11:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jane-Robin Wender JANE-ROBIN WENDER, P.A.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes

Read more
5/28/13, 8:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8817 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now