Florida  |  Elder Law

question bubble
5/02/08, 12:40 pm

Legal Question


Mother gravely ill

My mother went to Florida to vacation over the winter and has since become gravely ill in a Florida hospital with little chance of recovery. My 2 sisters who live there have medical power of attorney but nothing else. The Post Office is no longer forwarding her mail to my sisters house since the temporary forwarding has now expired. I have spoken to the Post Office and was told that they could not do anything without a POA. Since my mother is incapable of signing a POA, I believe that we need guardianship over her affairs, but I am not sure where to start. How do we start the process? Her place of residence is in Indiana. Can you help?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search